Guide de la Musique d'Orgue
 Base discographique  Concerts  Histoire  Contact 

Nouveau CD


  Base discographique

- Prochain concert -
Vendredi 21 Juin
Bouc Bel Air (13)


  Jour de l'Orgue


  Master classes




  Concerts historiques



  Data Base

  Base de datos

Organist (first Name Last Name)    Record title
Composer (NAME) Piece  Place / Church


  1 disc  

 1 - Thomas DUNN [1], George FAXON [2], Robert OWEN [3], Roy PERRY [4], William WATKINS [5], Joseph S. WHITEFORD [7]
   • Aeolian-Skinner The King of Instruments : volumes I, Ii, Iii •
  • R. Purvis : Thanksgiving (from “Four Prayers in Tone”) , Repentance (Incomplete, from “Four Prayers in Tone”) [4a]
  • L. Vierne : Carillon de Westminster [3b]
  • J. S. Bach : Nun freut euch, lieben Christen G'mein [3b]; “Schübler” Chorales Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel Herunter *Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ *Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten Meine Seele erhebt den Herren Wo soll ich fliehen hin [1c,d]; Trio Sonata BWV 525, Concerto in A Minor (Allegro) [2d]
  • L.-C. Daquin : Noel Grand Jeu et Duo [3b]
  • H. W. Davies : A Solemn Melody [4a]
  • J. Alain : Litanies [1c]
  • J. Langlais : Hymne d'Action de Grâce 'Te Deum' [5a]
  • L. Sowerby : Carillon [5a]
  • J. S. Whiteford : The American Classic Organ ; Principals, Flutes, Strings, Mutations And Mixtures, Reeds, Contrast In Organ Tone [7e]
  • D. Cooke : Guest Book [7e]
- Kilgore First Presbyterian Church [a], Bronxville Christ Church [b], Boston Symphony Hall [C], Boston Cathedral Church of St. Paul [d], New York Cathedral St-John-the-Divine [e]
- Disque Vermont organ academy;, 1954 [7]; et vers 1960, 2CD
Disc One: vol 1; The American Classic Organ G. Donald Harrison, narrator
Dwight Cooke’s Guest Book with Joseph S. Whiteford, guest October 26, 1954
New York St John the Divine

Disc Two: vol.2 : Organ Literature: Bach to Langlais, vol. 3 : Organ Recital: Robert Owen (Selections)
With additional previously un-released material recorded for Aeolian-Skinner by Thomas
Dunn and Roy Perry.
Aeolian-Skinner Opus 1173, First Presbyterian Church, Kilgore, TX
Aeolian-Skinner Opus 1082-A, Christ Church, Bronxville, NY
Aeolian-Skinner Opus 1134, Symphony Hall, Boston
Aeolian-Skinner Opus 1207, Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Boston
Beginning In 1954, Aeolian-Skinner produced a series of ten LP records titled, ”The King of Instruments”. These ten LP's are devoted to the tone and history of the modern organ.
Volume 1-”The American Classic Organ” contains a descriptive discussion written over both sides of the LP cover by Tyler Turner and Joseph Whiteford on the beginnings of ”The American Classic Organ”. The five recorded sections on the record, with G. Donald Harrison being the narrator, himself describing the five selections-being of: I-Principles, II-Flutes, III-Strings, IV-Reeds, and V-Mixtures and Mutations. Organ demonstrations comes from the Aeolian-Skinner of St. John the Divine.
Volume 1: ”The American Classic Organ”
Volume 2: ”Organ Literature-Bach to Langlais”
Volume 3: ”Organ Recital” - Robert Owen, Christ Church; Bronxville, New York.
Volume 4: Edgar Hilliar at St. Mark's; Mount Kisco, New York
Volume 5: ”Music of Richard Purvis” - Grace Cathedral; San Francisco, California
Volume 6: ”The Cathedral of St. John the Divine” Alec Wyton-Organist
Volume 7 ”Marilyn Mason in Recital” St. John's Chapel; Groton, Massachusetts
Volume 8: ”Norman Coke-Jephcott at St. John the Divine
Volume 9: ”The Mother Church; Boston, Massachusetts”
Volume 10: ”Music of the Church” - Organ and choir recital at the 1st Presbyterian Church in Kilgore, Texas
AS 306: Ruth Phelps at the Mother Church; Boston, Massachusetts
AS 322: Maurice and Marie-Madeleine Duruflé at Christ Church Cathedral; St. Louis, Missouri
AS 326: Alexander Boggs Ryan at the Cathedral of Christ the King; Kalamzoo, Michigan
ASC 502: Catherine Crozier at the RLDS Auditorium, Independence MO (No. 1309, 1959) - Program I (Reubke, Langlais, Roger-Ducasse, Alain) (Ampex reel-to-reel tape)
ASC 503: Catherine Crozier at the RLDS (Community of Christ) Auditorium; Independence Missouri (Ampex reel-to-reel tape)

  1 disc  

Source: database Alain CARTAYRADE

  Version imprimable   Version smartphone     © Alain Cartayrade 1999 - 2024